Portfolio: Process

A portfolio is the best way for graphic designer to display their art work in an organised gallery. There is a few ways this can be achieved, either online via a website, printed, or put onto a disc, it all depends on what sort of art work is being created. For me I create digital art, via Illustrator and Photoshop etc, so the best way is for me to upload it to an online portfolio. As I have a subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud I have access to the feature – Adobe MyPortfolio service (I wrote a blog post about it here), an easy to use website editor that creates a clean and functional website for you, to see how I created mine read on…

The main creative component of the website is the masthead, it is the page you land on when the website first loads up. I wanted this to instantly let people know which website they where on and who it belongs too, so I created a simple masthead that uses my only logo, following the same style as my CV and Business Card.

This was easy to accomplish and only required creating a canvas 1920×1080 then rescaling my logo to the correct size.Masthead.jpg

Once I had done that the rest was to be done using the features the website editor had to offer, I made it a bit more lively by adding my social links to the page and a drop down arrow, which directs users to the main page of the website. The editor offers plenty of customisation that you can play around with to best suit your personal preference.Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 14.33.55

Once I had the settings correct, the final product came out really well.Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 14.32.34


The only other creative component of the portfolio is the button for each of the pages, as square blocks these where easy to create in Illustrator, I just made each one summarise the content. I also wanted to keep colours mixed, and not have any repeating similarities.

Once uploaded I then made the rollover colour black with an opacity of 25%, this meant users would know when the mouse is hovering over the button.Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 14.52.38

Along with a block containing the project title, year, and type of work the final outcome looks like this.


All that remained was deciding which projects I wanted to upload. I decided not to go for all of them as some are better than others and its better to go for quality over quantity, however, I didn’t want to be to naive and not have enough so I whittled it down to under 10. I have a variety of options from personal work I have done in my spare time, to university projects I am happy with, as well as a few bits of freelance work. I was debating with myself whether to include my old college work, the only reason I left it in is that, that is where I discovered my passion for graphic design and it my first ever attempt at using an Adobe program, therefore it shows the transition from where I was then to where I am now.
I also changed the domain name from the stock: dillonspiller.myportfolio.co.uk (which is a nice domain name in itself) but purchased: dillonspiller.co.uk which is a much more personal and professional looking website domain.
Little details like text colour, spacing and interactivity all have a customisable touch so I adjusted it all to match so the website it consistent throughout, apart from that the software does it for you so its very easy to use!

I’m very happy with the website – how it looks and works, and feel proud to show people it. I will be updating it with new work when available making sure it is up to date ready for people to look at.


For more information about graphic designer portfolio check these sites out:

Leave a Reply

